Subscribe to my RSS feed RSS
May 26, 2009

Vegetarian Cheese: What Is It Made of?

vegetarian cheesevegetarian cheese is also often called vegetarian-friendly cheese. So, what is it made of? There is a special substance which is used for making cheese. It is called rennet. Originally rennet is ‘the inner lining of the fourth stomach of calves and other young ruminants’ or ‘a dried extract made from the stomach lining of a ruminant, used in cheesemaking to curdle milk’.

Today cheesmakers use rennet alternatives for producing vegetarian cheese with the help of scientists. One of them is vegetable rennet. As it turned out some plants also have the enzymes necessary to curdle milk. Another alternative to rennet is microbial rennet. In this case enzymes are derived from fungal or bacterial sources. Going deeper into scientific details could be too complicated. But the main point is pretty clear and understandable – vegetarian cheese is made without killing animals. It’s of high importance for a truly vegetarian.

As we all know that vegetarians completely exclude meat, poultry, and fish from their daily meals. And only some vegetarian foods can contain eggs, honey, and dairy products. Nevertheless some of very strict vegetarians refuse from eating cheese produced with using microbial rennet as living organisms (even though they are microorganisms) are used in its making.

Vegetarian Food

No comments yet

There are no comments yet, be the first!

Leave a Comment

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>